Pakistan Supper League

Pakistan Super League PSL 2016The Pakistan Super League T20 is finally on and with the Habib Bank Limited being announced the title sponsors for the first 3 years of the league, it sure sounds like it is here to stay! PSL 2017-8 tickets go on sale worldwide.

The HBL PSL is the premier professional T20 cricket league in Pakistan which has been in the pipeline for years now, which is why there’s so much anticipation around it. The trophy will be awarded annually to the league playoff champion at the end of each season.

After years of battling security concerns and inner hassles, the authorities have lined up a set of spectacular contests. The matches will be held, 36 in all, from February 2018 .

The authorities have intelligently chosen February as it doesn’t hold any other T20 event in the main. Every step is being taken to ensure smooth transactions of PSL tickets; sale of merchandise, building up of brand equity and smoothing the broadcasting rights.

PSL Teams:

The inaugural edition of the PSL Pakistan Super League 2017-18 will see six teams participating in it with each team representing a city. However, plans are in place for an expansion of the PSL to be a 10-team league within the next five years (do let us know how many teams would you like!)

PSL Teams 2017

lslamabad United Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Shane Watson, Steven Finn, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Samuel Badree, Mohammad Sami, Khalid Latif, Brad Haddin, Sam Billings, Hussain Talat, Amad Butt, Dwayne Smith, Ben Duckkett, Shadab Khan, Zohaib Khan, Saeed Ajmal, Imran Khalid, Asif Ali, Rumman Raees, Syed Muzammil Shah
Karachi Kings Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Chris Gayle, Babar Azam, Ravi Bopara, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Safiullah Bangash, Shazaib Hasan, Sohail Khan, Kieron Pollard, Ryan McLaren, Khurram Manzoor, Kashif Bhatti, Usman Khan, Hasan Mohsin, Mahela Jayawardene, Usama Mir, Rahat Ali, Amad Alam
Peshawar Zalmi Darren Sammy (captain), Sohaib Maqsood, Eoin Morgan, Wahab Riaz, Tilakaratne Dilshan, Mohammad Hafeez, Chris Jordan, Samit Patel, Kamran Akmal, Iftikhar Ahmed, Harris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Asghar, Marlon Samuels, Andre Fletcher, Khushdil Shah, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Imran Khan (jr), Junaid Khan, M. Irfan Khan
Quetta Gladiators Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Umar Gul, Asad Shafiq, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Nawaz, Kevin Pietersen, Luke Wright, Rilee Rossouw, Mahmudullah Riyad, Anwar Ali, Tymal Mills, Hassan Khan, Nathan McCullum, Thisara Perera, Bismillah Khan, Mir Hamza, Zulfiqar Babar, Saad Nasim, Umar Amin, Noor WaliQuetta Gladiators foreign players for PSL final: Anamul Haque, Morne van Wyk, Richard Levi, Sean Ervine, Graeme Cremer
Lahore Qalandars Brendon McCullum (captain), Azhar Ali, Aamer Yamin, Sohail Tanvir, Sunil Narine, Umar Akmal, Jason Roy, Yasir Shah, James Franklin, Mohammad Rizwan, Cameron Delport, Fakhar Zaman, Bilawal Bhatti, Ghulam Mudassar, Usman Qadir, Grant Elliot, Chris Green, Saif Badar, Mohammad Irfan (Jr.), Zafar Gohar
Multan Sultans Squad to be announced


The league will be played in place of the existing Haier T20 Cup and is expected to draw highly skilled players from all over the world, and currently has players signed from approximately 10 different countries. Pakistani players, obviously, will constitute the majority of the players in the league.

400 players including 180 graded international players will make their presence felt in the tournament that promises $4, 00, 000 to the winning team. It also promises plenty of excitement as teams from Islamabad, Karachi, Peshawar, Quetta, Multan and Lahore take part in the PSL.

Of course, what takes priority is the level of cricket played. Given that each team is allowed a maximum of 16 players, 100 players will participate in the PSL, of which 55 will be local players while the other 45 will be internationals. Quality international coaches have been roped to manage the five teams with precision and bite.

The league will use a draft system – similar to the National Football League in the United States for player recruitment as opposed to the auction system which is used in other popular T20 leagues across the world.

The Pakistan t20 league will  played some matches in Pakistan but instead will be based inUAE. All matches would be played Lahore-Karachi – Dubai and Sharjah cricket stadiums which was confirmed by the PCB in September 2017-8. The cricketing fans are all eagerly awaiting the kick-off and planning their sojourns in advance. This should be a cracker of a tournament to behold and you can get all the information for it in the days to come on this site.